New York, NY, April 1, 2016:

ASCAP Foundation President Paul Williams has announced the recipients of the 2016 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Award, which encourage talented young creators of concert music. The composers will be recognized at the annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards event in September.

Minneapolis-based composer Jake Runestad is one of the winners having received high praise from the judges for his extended choral/orchestral work “Dreams of the Fallen.” Runestad was selected from a pool of over 700 applicants for the award.

“I am absolutely thrilled to receive this award,” said Runestad. “It is a great honor to be recognized by the ASCAP Foundation and to be included among some of our country’s finest composers.”

Previous winners of this award include a who’s who of Pulitzer Prize-winning composers including Kevin Puts, Jennifer Higdon, Aaron Jay Kernis, Julia Wolfe, and David Lang.

Established in 1979, with funding from the Jack and Amy Norworth Fund, The ASCAP Foundation Young Composer Award program grants cash prizes to Concert Music composers up to 30 years of age whose works are selected through a juried national competition. These composers may be American citizens, permanent residents, or students possessing US Student Visas.

Morton Gould, a Pulitzer Prize-winning composer, served as President of ASCAP and The ASCAP Foundation from 1986 – 1994. An eminent and versatile American composer, Gould was a child prodigy whose first composition was published by G. Schirmer when he was only six years of age. To honor Gould’s lifelong commitment to encouraging young creators, the annual ASCAP Foundation Young Composer program was dedicated to his memory, following his death in 1996.

The award-winning composers share cash prizes including the Leo Kaplan Award, in memory of the distinguished attorney who served as ASCAP Special Distribution Advisor; the Charlotte V. Bergen Scholarship for a composer 18 years of age or younger; and grants from The ASCAP Foundation Jack and Amy Norworth Fund. Jack Norworth wrote such standards as “Shine On Harvest Moon” and “Take Me Out to the Ballgame.”

See this page on the ASCAP website for more information:

Press Contacts:

Cathy Nevins, ASCAP

Tyff Hoeft, executive assistant for Jake Runestad