“Dreams of the Fallen” World Premiere
Nov. 11, 2013 (Veterans Day)
Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra & Symphony Chorus of New Orleans
Jeffrey Biegel, piano.
National WWII Museum, New Orleans, LA.

“Dreams of the Fallen” for piano, chorus, and orchestra, is a new composition by award-winning, young composer Jake Runestad. Incorporating poetry by acclaimed poet and Iraq War veteran Brian Turner, this work focuses on the impact war has on an individual. “Thousands of veterans struggle to assimilate back into everyday life after living through a traumatic wartime experience,” said Runestad. “We hear very little of the continued struggles that these soldiers experience and so I hope to shine a light on their stories with this new musical work.”

This new work, commissioned by a consortium of five orchestras around the United States, will have its world premiere performance with the Louisiana Philharmonic and Symphony Chorus of New Orleans on Veterans Day (November 11) at the National WWII Museum. Jeffrey Biegel, world-renowned pianist and solo performer for “Dreams of the Fallen,” notes, “Jake Runestad is a rising star in the composition world and his “Dreams of the Fallen” is destined to become one of the most important musical statements of our generation.”

Find out more at these links:

Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra
National WWII Museum